Director X Wins Prism Prize Special Achievement Award

Director X Wins Prism Prize Special Achievement Award
The Prism Prize is gearing up for a celebratory gala on May 15, when the winner of the titular trophy will be chosen from list of top 10 finalists. But before the main event next month, organizers have revealed that Director X has won the Special Achievement Award.
The accolade honours artistic achievements and exceptional worldwide contribution to music video art, and this year, it's going to Director X for his body of work, which recently expanded with Drake's ubiquitous "Hotline Bling" video. The prize is presented by FYI Music News.
Since its release, the "Hotline Bling" video has been parodied by everyone from NDP leader (at the time) Tom Mulclair, Donald Trump, the Toronto Raptors, more than 400 UBC students and Superbowl advertisers.
In addition to last year's most viral music video, Director X has also helmed memorable music clips for Jay Z, Kanye West, Wiz Khalifa, Usher, John Mayer, Korn and Kendrick Lamar — winning MTV Video Awards and Much Music Video Awards on multiple occasions.
Beyond his work on music videos, Director X's debut feature film Across the Line was released earlier this month.
The Prism Prize itself will be handed out on May 15 in a ceremony at the TIFF Bell Lightbox in Toronto. The winners of the Arthur Lipsett Award for innovative and unique approaches to video art and an Audience Award will also be revealed.